Can I just say NO????


Whew!! Made it thru the weekend! Two killer yogas classes done. Went to my cocktail party. This was a perfect storm for me. Nice weather, Saturday, women only, good booze served and good food. I decided to bring tattoo girl with me as I knew she would not want to stay long and is not of drinking age. I observed how others drank. Interesting and telling that I for sure know I have a slight problem. Most of these people can just have one or two. For me that is basically impossible as I am an all or none kind of person. Why have two??? Whats the point in that? That is my problem. I took my drink that was served to me, held it, went to the bathroom and dumped it out. No one noticed. Two friends asked if I wanted to drop tatoo girl off and go to the bar or go to my garage. I said sure because I am a coward that way. I said I will call you when I drop her…wtf??? I tell tatoo girl in the car I don’t want to hang out with these people, so I call them and bail, telling them all is quiet at the garage and tatoo girl needs the car…lies, lies, lies. But it got me thru. I had a few temptations over the weekend starting with Friday as I went to purchase a gift for Saturday and walked in to the boutique and holy shit they are having their anniversary party complete with Vodka drinks greeting me at the door…shit shit shit what the heck is this legal? Dont they have to have a liquor license? I took the little cup to be polite and set it down on a table. Why I just didn’t say no thanks is beyond me. Got the heck out of there as I saw a friend browsing around and did not want talk to her and have my fun mood kick in. Went home and my better half is having a beer…ugggggg. We live in a place where the weather sucks…cold, snow etc. It is very customary to have heated garages complete with TV’s, refrigerators, smoke ventilation ( a personal bar really) etc. I am married to a contractor so my garage is stellar the first man cave if you will. Complete with bar and stools nice lighting, etc. People love coming here. Smoking is allowed in here as no one smokes in their homes but everyone seems to be a closet smoker. So he is there having happy hour. I immediately went in to the house and randomly starting cooking to distract myself. Thankful for the building separation. He comes in asks if I am coming out…now he knows I am coming off my hangover. He says: you don’t have to join me if you don’t want too. That is the perfect ploy from him. I said I will come out and sit with you. I did. I didn’t drink. He tells me I am too hard on myself. I just know this was a fun life in its time. I need to be done with the booze as my primary source of entertainment, stress relief, time killer etc. Hoping for a good week…

2 responses to “Can I just say NO????

  1. Way to go, girl! i think you should congratulate yourself on a job well done. Don’t worry about the excuses you used to get there, the ends justifies the means.

    Hopefully, things will get easier with time and you’ll feel happier about the not drinking. After all i went through, i feel lucky and truly happy now in my day (course the anti-depressants don’t hurt–lol) and the happiness means i don’t miss the booze so much. i so hope you can get there, soon!

    i got your back, babe!

    • Yes feeling good. I am getting anxious or bored with the evening hours as work is slow. Still cold here so it is hard to be outside and be busy. TV sucks. Watched a marathon of Bethanny…who is this chick?

Leave a comment